Big Brother Google Expands Tracking To Logged Out Users

Now, everyone has their activities tracked in the name of a better service

big-brother-google
Google wants to make sure everyone takes it personally

Anyone who’s a regular Google search user will know that the only way to avoid the company tracking your online activities is to log out of Gmail or whatever Google account you use. Not any more.

As of last Friday, even searchers who aren’t logged into Google in any way have their data tracked in the name of providing a ‘better service’.

Anonymous cookie

The company explained: “What we’re doing today is expanding Personalized Search so that we can provide it to signed-out users as well. This addition enables us to customise search results for you based upon 180 days of search activity linked to an anonymous cookie in your browser.”

However, if you’ve previously been a fan of the log-out method to avoid being tracked, there’s still the option to disable the cookie by clicking a link at the top right of a search results page.

By J Mark Lytle, Tokyo
Sunday Dec 06, 2009 at 06:51 GMT

Source: TechRadar

More:

Climategate: Googlegate?!

Google’s spy in the streets triggers a wave of protests

Google Offers “Latitude” To Track People

Google knows where you at

Is Google Turning Into Big Brother?

Leave a Comment